Saturday, September 13, 2008

Mount Sanqing

The Mount Sanqing or San Qing Mountain is a renowned Taoist Mountain located 50 miles north from Yushan, Jiangxi Province of the with an outstanding scenery. ''San Qing'' literally mean 'three distincts' in as the San Qing Mountatin is made up of three main summits: the "Yujing Mountain", "Yushui Mountain" and "Yuhua Mountain".

A slogan “三峰峻拔、如三清列坐其巅” explains why it was named . Amongst the three hills, the Yujing hill is the highest.

The San Qing Mountain had been classified as a national park . It is a famous in mainland China as well as a shelter for animals and plants. It contains about 1000 species of flora and 800 types of fauna. The total area of the San Qing Mountain is 2200 km?. It was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2008 .

No comments: